Grieving at Christmas

Handling grief at holiday time by francy Dickinson

Dear Francy: I am going through my second holiday without my husband and its tough. I have a few friends that are going through similar feelings and I thought I would share some feelings with you. f.

Memory Snap Shot

Memory Snap Shot

There is no time frame to grief. I have known and listened to stories of spouses remarrying within a few months of a loss and then those that never find another mate. My mother was without her husband for forty-eight years. There is simply no rule to the time of healing and adjusting to loss; a tough divorce, moving away, loss of a job or home and of course; death of a dear and close loved one or partner. The rules go out the window. So, each of us have to try to make it through the woods on our own. Creating our own healing time-frame and finding small and large ways to restructure our life patterns to form a new life for our own self. That is why I share with others that their loss and my loss are totally different. Therefore, no comparison is available. But the pain, the loneliness and the unsettling in each of our lives is certainly a bridge of understanding and its shared by all of us walking through those woods.

George's Memory Tree

George’s Memory Tree

This is my second Christmas without my Georgie. Last year, I was in our family home and did the decorating as usual. I used George as my theme…and printed up pictures of him at different times in his life and decorated the tree with a sense of love and joy. I had friends over for holiday dinner and used my china and made my special recipes. I love to bake; so I did my usual baking of Biscotti and gifting it to friends and family. I missed my guy with all of my heart but I went through the motion of festivities because it gave me a sense of security to stick to the plan.

This year; I am not in my home that I shared for so many years with Georgie. I am living with friends for a while and they are too busy to decorate for Christmas. They are not into baking or into any of the many traditions that George and I had taken on to express our love of the holiday season. So, its quiet here. I have time to think back on lots of holidays and reflect on what I want to do in the forward motion of my life. I have time to rest and not do the crazy run around for gifts, food and parties. Its something different for me, not bad, just different. But my heart aches for my guy and our old ways.

I have a dear friend that lost her husband around the time I lost Georgie. She too has moved out of her long time home. She is settling into an apartment lifestyle and is in the process of adjustment, as I am. We share our memories of years of fun and love with our mates and I think it helps both of us…to talk about things…work through things in our minds by sharing.

I would say that having a friend that shares a similar loss in their life to talk to, is very helpful. If that is not something you have in your life; try to find a support group that would fit your own needs. When you can talk about yourself and then help others through their hard time, it really does makes your own pain feel controllable. When you keep all your thoughts and feelings inside and only have an on-going personal discussion with yourself…the pain can and will overwhelm you. Why try to pretend you are not sad or lonely for the sake of friends or family…it hurts only you. I am not saying that you escape the pain, but support and comfort from others allows you to express the sadness and more or less flush it out. Instead of getting stuck in thoughts that circle around and around again.

Safety, is what I think I miss. Somehow I felt safe with my Georgie around. Even when he was extremely ill and could not have really saved me from anything or anyone…just his presence allowed me to feel, safe. Therefore, if you were asking me what is the hardest thing about his loss? It would be my feeling of safety is missing. I can not put the feeling into words. But on a daily basis I am faced with actions, decisions, and schedules that are presented to me and there is no one behind me to support my own decisions. I suppose they would be the same decisions with or without George there…but his energy and love always gave me a feeling of confidence, that I was free to make a good choice. Now, I fuss over things and worry over my choices.

When I talk to my friends that are going through the same situations of loss over their spouse. I find it comforting to know they too have similar feelings. So, in a strange way, it helps me. Not to change my choices or my life decisions…but to know that its a stage that we are all going through, not just me. Those stages of grief that are printed and talked about…just so you know. They are just a suggestion of a progression through pain of loss. You do not have to go through those stages in order, or timely. You may skip feelings and then hover on other feelings. Its OK, we are not all cupie dolls walking through the same experience. So, do not be worried over the death experts…just allow yourself to feel and be as you go. No rules, no guilt. Maybe you feel nothing, maybe your relationship is tucked in perfectly. Maybe your personal beliefs have you and your loved one on a very accepted path and you are able to let your sadness go. Each of us, have our our walk through the woods. There is no rule…so do not stress. If you have an after-life belief go with it. But if you don’t…there is plenty of time to build your own.

I used to wake in the morning with George beside me in our big bed. Just as the sun was coming in the window, the room was so quiet and George still asleep. The two dogs and two cats all curled up between us and sleeping. I would look over and see them all and will myself to take a mental snap-shot of the scene. I knew it would change…so I wanted to hold on to it as long as I could.

Now, when I wake I often close my eyes again and recreate that snap-shot. Listening to the breathing of George and our little ones and feeling them all close. George is gone, so is one of our dogs and one of our cats. The scene is no longer there…but in my mind’s eye I still hold that early morning feeling of love. I still remember how I wanted that scene never to end and I take comfort in reviewing it in my mind.

I have no answers to my own future. I wish comfort and love for me as the time moves on. But I try to live each day. I don’t stay in bed…I get up and move. I try to eat well, I try to sleep well. I give my little dog and cat my love and keep them on a daily routine. I write each day, I call family, friends and clients each day. I shop for good food and remembrance gifts and cards. I have a journal that I share my fears and joys in and it helps keep me on track. Even if I am down, I try to reach out and chat with friends and family. I guess I am trying to just keep in motion. So the positive life changes for my future can happen from any direction.

My walk in the woods has just begun. Maybe yours has not even started yet…but know that when you get to the woods, they do not have to be dark and scary. The woods are filled with tall quiet trees that reach out and support you. The woods has ferns and plants that give it a carpet and sounds of birds and small animals that send you energy along the way. It is not a bad or end of the world walk, its just a stroll. Each of us has to take it. If you reach out and talk to a friend that understands or join a group that supports you…the walk will be lighter. I wish that for both of us.

My Missy with our little Kirbee, that left us this year.

My Missy with our little Kirbee, that left us this year.

What ever you choose to do on your holiday, make time to do for others. That is how we heal; by turning around and giving a hand-up to another.

Thank you for your gift of care giving your loved one. Blessings, on your holiday. francy

3 thoughts on “Grieving at Christmas

  1. Dear Francy,
    Serendipity. I just left a Christmas Concert at a local church early, probably halfway through. I was crying, quietly, not making a scene, but tears just began to stream down my face and would not stop.
    I came back to my apartment, yes, I’m not really calling it “home” yet. I drive past home to get to the apartment, it’s 4/10 of a mile away…. anyways, I let Hurley out to check peemail, and then we came inside.
    I brewed a cup of coffee and sat down… no longer crying, but examining the reason for my tears… and checking email. Lo and behold, here is your latest post. Exactly what I needed to see. Thank you, my very dear friend.
    Last Christmas was my first without Linwood. I did very little in the way of decorating. I did not go to concerts, or enjoy many outings. Tonight at this concert, listening to carols alone… as I knew no one there but my new neighbors of seven days, I felt so lonely. Christmas Carols which had formerly elicited joyfulness just emphasized my aloneness. The neighbor’s hubby and youngest sone sang a solo at the concert, which is why I agree to attend… I’m glad I was able to stay long enough to enjoy that.
    I don’t know if I’ll do better, be able to last through an entire event this season, but I shall try. I will think of it as part of the walk I must take through the woods you so lovingly described. I will reach out for support, look for beauty, find positive energy, and get through each step of the stroll.
    Thank you, dear Francy, for sharing your journey and wisdom. I love you, Shari

  2. I am having car problems again, the car is cold, no longer kept in a warm garage…and it does not like it. Starting it is hard and I never know if I will make an appointment or not. I have to work through this…because I tend to say…OK I wont go…I need to go. I am happy to hear you are going. Bob does not have any decor going this year. I have always been a crazy Christmas decor girl…so for me, I feel like I am in limbo. I am sure I will get better once in the duplex…but your right. How could it really be our home..well maybe in a year or so…we will meld into our surroundings. I don’t know. But I will force myself to keep trying…because George told me to “live” and I must at least give that a good try. Its just that I don’t see the point quite yet, of what I do for another 30 years or so…I suppose we just keep walking until we get the direction we are suppose to go…loving you, Shari…f.

  3. Francy, this was a great post. I think my comment got sent… perhaps it’s not showing because you approve comments first.

    God bless you, goodnight, Shario

    On Sun, Dec 4, 2016 at 4:21 PM, Dear Francy, Senior Care Tips for Care Giving Family and Spouses wrote:

    > WritersthatChat posted: “Handling grief at holiday time by francy > Dickinson Dear Francy: I am going through my second holiday without my > husband and its tough. I have a few friends that are going through similar > feelings and I thought I would share some feelings with you. f. ” >

Leave a comment